Vidal Sassoon Academy.

When as a little girl I started understanding the concept of beauty, dressing up, and generally the urge to look good (whatever it meant at the age of 5), as far as I remember my main emphasis has always been on my hair. I used to make such a scene at the hairdressers when my mum ordered a bob with a fringe. I absolutely hated it. When I got older and had the power over the fate of my own hair, I spent hours with my nose stuck into hairstyle magazines. Unfortunately, I never looked like the girls in the magazine afterwards. It took me a while to realize that choosing a hairstyle is not the same as choosing a pair of jeans. The type of hair and the shape of head play such a big role and it is hard to tell in advance if you are not an expert.

At the age of 17 I gave up on hairdressers, I was disappointed with the result almost every time. I can’t even count how many times I walked home through the back streets (a little town problem – you always bump into somebody you know) or with a hat on my head, and how much I dreaded the next day at school. I began cutting my hair by myself or occasionally with the help of a friend, or later boyfriend. Mr. J used to even dye sections of my hair, a star boyfriend, as his mum would say (lets not talk about the time when I almost lost my eye when having my fringe cut).

Then I found out about the Vidal Sassoon Academy. It was the concept that attracted my attention. Students, who although are not beginners (often being there to learn new styles, not how to use the scissors) cut your hair but are constantly supervised by tutors, professional hairdressers. I had long hair back then and I had no idea what to do with it. I liked the idea of sitting back and letting them consider my head shape, length and type of hair and basically create a haircut made to measure.

Six hours later and there I was. I couldn’t decide if I liked it or not but it was fun, it was different and it was exciting…and a bit extreme too. So yes, I liked it. Eventually. We are talking about one side of my head having hair length just over my ear, the other under my shoulder, colourwise it was black with blue bits. Oh yes, I loved it (after I stopped crying of course).

P1090023

It took me about a year to collect enough courage (and hair) to visit the Vidal Sassoon Academy again. All ready for a massive change of hairstyle, I left with a lovely girlie long haircut. I was confused, I wasn’t sure if I was happy that it was nice, or I was unhappy because it wasn’t extreme. Oh the expectations!

It took a few visits to realize that I shouldn’t go there with expectations of particular cuts. I am a model who pays really little to get a first class haircut. Today, just when I managed to get this into my head, did not research for haircuts beforehand, and went there without a clue, they actually asked me what I would want. What?! I had an answer to this question ready for five years and the question never came up. Today I had no idea so I just shrugged my shoulders and let them do what they wanted. Sitting there regretting I should have considered this properly, I realized this is all it is about, it is about the surprise and about the unexpected situations. Do I like it? I am not sure. I was prepared for an extreme change of look and I ended up with a bob with a fringe (my mum will love it).

Before

After

After

If you know exactly what you want and you are very particular about your hair, Vidal Sassoon Academy is probably not the right place for you. But if you want a bit of adrenalin (yes, I call it adrenalin, if it was up to me I’d consider getting a haircut to be an extreme sport), go for it. I promise you, there is always something you can do to make it look better, the first step is to wash your hair to get rid of the blow dry/hair straightening. Off to the shower now..

Leave a Reply

