Day out.

I consider myself a gallery and museum enthusiast. On my days off I often find myself gallery hopping or wandering around impressive museum buildings. So the fact that I’ve never been to the Museum of London is kind of a mystery to me. Especially so that my old college is just around the corner.

But since they have an interesting exhibition going on there and since me and Mr. J finally managed to grab a mutual day off, I decided it was time to pay a visit.

The exhibition Doctors, Dissection and Resurrection Men is not for under twelve year-olds and so Mr. J couldn’t resist pointing out it would be just about the level I was able to take.

Haha. He’s right though. I don’t like to see open wounds and I always preventively close my eyes when there’s a moment in a movie suggesting blood or surgery (I watched an entire season of Nip/Tuck practically with my eyes closed). Basically, any insight into human body makes me feel uncomfortable. Even though, I decided to go and it was so worth it!

IMG_9724

IMG_9796

The exhibition shines a light on the controversial fight between ethical and scientific interests during the 19th and 20th century that the urge to learn, and the demand for “fresh bodies” was so high that on a few occasions led to crime.

Craaaazy!

I never thought about how the progress in medicine and in particular surgical knowledge and skill was achieved.

It is something that is taken for granted these days but to improve a skill, one has to practice. To practice surgery although isn’t the same as practicing knitting or riding a bike..

Photos weren’t allowed but I managed to sneak a few on the phone:

IMG_3581

IMG_3588

IMG_3584

There were points when my stomach started hurting (a way my brain informs my eyes about how much it can take) but I powered through because leaving without seeing the tools for removing broken limbs (a standard procedure for broken bones back then), my experience just wouldn’t be complete.

Of course, the need for medical progress now is no smaller than in the previous centuries but thanks to the increasing awareness of it many people decide to donate their body to science.

At the end of the exhibition there is a mirror for visitor’s feedback. A lot of people left a message with the word ‘donate’. This provoked a big debate between me and Mr. J who is a registered organ donor, while I still haven’t made a decision about the fate of my body after death. Yeah, so kind of a typical Sunday conversation :)

IMG_3591

IMG_3589

To lighten up, we went to mess about in the museum shop. Such a shame Mr. J did not get these sunglasses, it would totally make my summer :)

IMG_9720

My favourite item was a combination of two things I love: food and stationary: toasty notes!

IMG_9722

Much to my happiness there was a little exhibition about Michael Caine. I love the man! His way of saying certain words will forevah stay in my vocabulary. For some reason I don’t have a photo, so maybe just of photo of how much it cheered me up.

IMG_9717

The plan was to go for a walk around Barbican, to me the most intriguing part of the city. However, it was so cold and windy that we gave up pretty soon and resorted to hot late drinking, tasty pastries eating, and people watching in Starbucks.

IMG_9737

IMG_9784

IMG_9745

IMG_9758

Pretty perfect day I must say.

Leave a Reply

