My Cake in a Book!

Today (1st of May) was such a hectic day, I didn’t even get the chance to kiss Mr. J under a cherry tree. It’s a Czech tradition, every woman has to be kissed under a cherry blossom tree on the first day of May. This old tradition is based on a poem that everybody in the Czech Rep. knows at least the first verses of:

It was late evening, on the first of May,
The eve of May was the time of love.
The turtle-dove´s voice called to love,
Where rich and sweet pinewoods lay.

If a girl is not kissed under a cherry tree, she will wither. What that exactly means I do not know but I shall find out in the year to come … :) (Read about it here if you are interested.)

Where was I…yes, very busy day today and when I was rushing out of the door in the morning I knocked over a pile of papers that were hiding a book I almost forgot about! Do you remember the baking competition I entered back in March? They produced a book of the cake recipes that entered the competition last year! That means my cake from last year was in it! And that makes me very happy. Have a look!

1b

2b

And a quick list through the book.

4b

5b

3b

I miss baking so much. One of the first things I’ll do when I finish this degree is to bake a cake! Next Friday that is!

Leave a Reply

